Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


For both undergraduate and postgraduate studies the academic year at the NKUA begins on the1st of September, ends on the 31st of August and is divided into

  • the fall semester (from late September to February),
  • the spring semester (from March to mid-June) and
  • the summer period (from mid-June- to late September).

During the summer period, only intensive postgraduate programs run. For the rest of the students it’s a vacation period.

Each semester comprises at least thirteen (13) weeks of courses. Semester exams take place in February (for all courses of the fall semester) and June (for all courses of the spring semester). A third exam period (re-sit) is offered in early September for the students that have failed on the previous exams periods of the academic year.


October 28th,  2023                                                
(National Holiday)        

November 17th 2023                                              
(Holiday for Educational Institutions)

December 24th, 2023-  January 7th, 2024   
(Christmas holidays)

January 30th 2024                                            
(Three Hierarchs Day, Educational-religious holiday, no courses or exams are held)

February 21st, 2024                                          
(Educational holiday, no courses or exams are held) 

March 18th, 2024                                               
(Shrove Monday, moveable Holiday)

March 25th,  2024                                                   
(National Holiday)

April  29th  -  May 12th, 2024                               
(Easter Holidays, moveable Holidays)

May 1st   2024                                                                   
(Labor Day)

June  24th, 2023                                                      
(Holy Spirit Day, moveable Holiday)